A public kiosk, located on the main floor of the library, offers access to the Library Catalog and I-Share. Due to the library's licensing agreements and computer policy, access to all other library computers is restricted to Concordia University Chicago students, faculty, staff, and students from other schools who are taking classes at Concordia or living on campus. If you are off-campus, you are prompted to enter Concordia username and password. The same used to access Concordia Connect web portal and campus computers. If you need assistance with your username and password, contact CougarNet 708-209-3131, toll free 877-796-0003.
During this semester, the library is closed to all but Concordia-Chicago students, faculty and staff.
Concordia Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students, Staff
Concordia Alumni and Professors Emeriti, Oak Park and River Forest Residents, Lutheran Educational Organizations in Illinois
Students from I-Share Libraries
Faculty and Staff from I-Share Libraries
Students from Neighboring High Schools, Parents of Children Attending ECC, Clergy
All non-open access EBSCO eBooks can be checked out for two hours by Concordia students, faculty and staff. Books from ProQuest Ebook Central database do not have a checkout limit.
Periodicals, Microforms, Reference and Rare materials are for in-house use only.
A borrower ID is required to obtain services at the Klinck Memorial Library. The following borrower IDs are accepted:
The Cougar Card, issued by ID Card Services, functions as a library card for students, faculty, and staff. It is used to borrow materials from the Klinck Memorial Library and I-Share member libraries.
The Klinck Memorial Library card expires after one year. Its holders cannot renew materials online and place interlibrary loan requests. To apply, qualified borrowers must present following forms of identification:
Access to library computers is restricted to Concordia University Chicago students, faculty, staff, and students from other schools who are taking classes at Concordia or are living on campus. A public kiosk, located on the main floor of the library, offers access to the Library Catalog and I-Share. Wireless Internet access is provided for personal laptops. Two Mac computers, located on the upper level of the library, are designated as collaborative workstations for group study. Individual students may use them as well.
For assistance with your username, password, and wireless setup, contact CougarNet 708-209-3131, toll free 877-796-0003.
CougarNet does not allow the installation of software on library computers and all changes are erased on restart. Faculty members can request additional software be installed through the following procedure. The requesting faculty member must submit the request to the CougarNet helpdesk giving justification and in which labs the software is needed. Any available technical information to support the program must be submitted with the request at least one month prior to the start of the semester it is needed for and no additional software will be installed during a semester. CougarNet does not take requests for software from students or third parties.
There are two printers/photocopiers located on the main and lower levels of the Klinck Memorial Library and one at the Christopher Resource Center. All machines have free scanning capabilities. A Cougar Card is required to pay for printing, photocopying and to scan. Each year, students are allocated $20.00 for printing and photocopying; black and white print copies cost $0.03 per side; color print copies at the Christopher Resource Center cost $0.15 per side. CougarNet can add more funds to student accounts. General public photocopying and scanning are available at CougarNet.
In addition to printing from library computers, patrons can print from personal laptops and tablets by logging in to Print Services with Concordia username and password.
A microform reader-printer is located on the main level of the Klinck Memorial Library; print copies cost $0.10 per page.
A fax machine is available at the Klinck Memorial Library Access Services Desk. The cost to send/receive a fax is $1.00 per page to/from any area code, including overseas. The library accepts cash, money orders, and certified checks. Payment receipts are available upon request.
The Klinck Memorial Library affirms the American Library Association's Code of Ethics, which states that "[librarians] protect each library user's right to privacy and confidentiality with respect to information sought or received, and resources consulted, borrowed, acquired, or transmitted." The Klinck Memorial Library does not retain records that do not contribute to the efficient operation of the library.
The Klinck Memorial Library adheres to the provisions of the copyright law (Title 17, United States Code) and follows the law's fair use clauses with regard to providing course reserves and photocopies of materials from its collections. Library staff will not make copies of materials that are intended for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.
Library users are responsible for complying with the copyright law. The Know Your Copy Rights brochure, prepared by the Association of Research Libraries, is a helpful tool that can be used by Concordia-Chicago faculty. Embedding library resources through permalinks in Blackboard is the recommended practice for classroom utilization. Faculty members who need assistance with locating/embedding permalinks for digital resources, have questions or concerns regarding this practice, can contact the Director of the University Library.
The Klinck Memorial Library subscribes to electronic journals, ebooks, videos, and databases for use by Concordia University Chicago faculty, students, and staff. The terms and conditions for using these resources are set out in license agreements with each vendor.
For assistance regarding compliance with copyright law, contact the library or call 708-209-3050.
Library materials as well as personal items placed on reserve by Concordia faculty for the use of Concordia students are kept on reserve for one semester. They circulate for two hours and cannot be renewed. Items can be placed on reserve online or by filling out a request form available at the Access Services Desk. Library reference materials and items acquired through interlibrary loan are not eligible. The Course Reserves feature of the Library Catalog allows users to view materials.
Some reserved materials are available electronically. These password protected items are posted on the Blackboard learning system accessed via Concordia Connect. For assistance with electronic reserves, contact Lisa Burmeister, Director, Academic Technologies, 708-209-3570.
The policy governing course reserves at Concordia University Chicago is based on four factors set forth in the “fair use” provision of copyright law (Title 17, United States Code) which establishes the principle that the reproduction of copyright works for certain limited educational purposes does not constitute copyright infringement. The Checklist for Fair Use is a helpful tool that can be used by Concordia faculty.
Written permission of the copyright holders and/or other rights holders is required for reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use. Transmitting an image or file on the Internet is equivalent to reproducing and distributing that image in print. Use this form for submitting copyright permission requests.
Photocopies of tests and class notes may be placed on reserve without restriction. Photocopies of copyrighted materials (journal articles or book chapters, e.g.) may also be placed on reserve, but such materials may be limited by copyright restrictions. Multiple copies of copyrighted material will not be produced or accepted by the library. Photocopied items placed on reserve for more than one semester for the same class, including non-contiguous semesters, require permission from the copyright holder.
A single copy of any of the following may be made for course reserves from materials in the library collection or owned by faculty:
A work is said to be in the public domain if it is no longer protected by copyright, or if it was never protected by copyright.
For assistance regarding compliance with copyright law, contact a librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org) 708-209-3050.
The Klinck Memorial Library welcomes and appreciates gifts of books and other materials that enhance its collection. Donated materials become property of the library, which retains the right to dispose unneeded items in any way it sees fit. It has the right to reject donations. The library does not place a value on gifts for tax purposes, nor does it supply an itemized list of donated items. An acknowledgment letter is provided to the donor upon request. To schedule delivery or for additional questions, contact Dan Zamudio, Access Services Librarian 708-209-3057.
Interlibrary loan service is available to Concordia University Chicago students, faculty, and staff. The Klinck Memorial Library is subject to the interlibrary loan service policies of the lending institutions. Requesting patrons assume full responsibility for borrowed items.
For copy requests, the Klinck Memorial Library must comply with the copyright law (Title 17, United States Code). If the Klinck Memorial Library does not subscribe to the journal and publication date is within the last five years, the library can only request five copies per journal title in a year. The library can request one article per issue per patron. If the journal publication date is more than five years, there is no limit on number of copies the library can request.
Interlibrary loan service is provided at no charge for ILLINET and LVIS members. Other libraries are charged a $10.00 fee per request. Klinck Memorial Library does not fill international requests, except from LVIS members. The following types of materials cannot be borrowed:
Length of the interlibrary loan is a minimum of 28 days. Material may be renewed 3 times. All borrowed materials are subject to recall. The minimum replacement cost per damaged or lost item is $100.00.
For copy requests, the requesting library must comply with the copyright law (Title 17, United States Code). Klinck Memorial Library will provide up to 30 pages per bibliographic citation from non electronic resources.
For additional questions, contact Dan Zamudio, Access Services Librarian 708-209-3057.
The following items are available to check out from the library:
The Klinck Memorial Library subscribes to electronic journals, ebooks and other databases for use by Concordia University Chicago faculty, students, and staff. The terms and conditions for using these resources are set out in license agreements with each vendor. It is the responsibility of individuals to ensure that use of electronic resources does not breach the terms and conditions specified in the license agreements:
Library emails several notices to patrons who check out materials: a due date notice when materials are checked out; a change in the loan status notice when materials are renewed or recalled; a confirmation notice when materials are returned; a courtesy reminder notice three days before materials are due; and an overdue notice two weeks after materials are due. To avoid fees, borrowers should return or renew materials before the due date.
Library patrons are responsible for all materials charged to their accounts. If overdue Concordia materials are not returned or renewed within 30 days of the due date, the material will be considered lost, an invoice issued and the patron’s account blocked. Unpaid library fees are sent to a collection agency. If overdue materials are returned, replacement costs are waived. The minimum replacement cost per item is $100.00. This fee also applies to materials damaged while in the patrons’ possession. The Klinck Memorial Library accepts cash, money orders, and certified checks. Payment receipts are available upon request.
A patron’s Concordia account is blocked when Concordia material is not returned or renewed within 30 days of the due date. A patron’s I-Share account is blocked when one of the following thresholds is reached:
The Renew feature of the Library Catalog under My Account allows borrowers to renew items electronically. Borrowers may also request renewals online and by phone 708-209-3050, toll free 866-733-8287. Reserve materials and items recalled by other borrowers may not be renewed.
Concordia faculty, students, and staff have an option of recalling material charged to another patron by contacting a librarian online or by phone 708-209-3057, toll free 866-733-8287. The original borrower is guaranteed use of recalled materials for 7 days, unless it is needed for course reserves. The original borrower must return the material within 24 hours of notification if it is overdue or needed for reserves. Patrons are informed by the library when an item has been returned and is available for pickup.
Library patrons can request an item to be placed on hold online and by phone 708-209-3050, toll free 866-733-8287. If the item is available, it will be placed on the Hold Shelf for 24 hours. Library staff will inform patrons of the item’s availability.
Library patrons may return Concordia’s materials as well as items borrowed through the I-Share catalog to the Klinck Memorial Library or any I-Share member library. Materials are discharged from the borrower's account at the location to which they are returned prior to being shipped back to the lending library.
Materials borrowed from the non I-Share member library must be returned to the Klinck Memorial Library. Concordia ships materials back to the lending library where they are discharged from the borrower’s account.
Items can also be returned via mail. Borrowers are responsible for return postage and for materials lost in the mail.
Only faculty at Concordia University Chicago are able to request Kanopy titles.
Due to budget restrictions, the Library only allows up to 4 videos to be requested per faculty per fiscal. Please note that the Library provides access to numerous film collections that are readily available, and if the Kanopy request is similar to content that is already owned, a librarian will reach out to you with other options before filling the Kanopy request. Exceptions for purchases may occur depending on available funds at the end of the fiscal year.
To request a Kanopy title, email: email@example.com with the following information:
Videos purchased through Kanopy are only available for one year due to license agreements. If you would like to renew access to a video you have requested, please inform the Library before the video expires or it will no longer be accessible after one year of the purchase date.
To learn more about other media resources that the Library has to offer, please email us: firstname.lastname@example.org or call 708-209-3050