Located on the lower level of the Klinck Memorial Library, the Concordia University Chicago Archives preserves historical records of Concordia's history, providing meaningful foundation for the University, the library, and all Concordia individuals. The Archives provide academic support for the activities of those within the University community, and of all who work towards promoting the mission, vision and values of Concordia University Chicago, including historical materials from Concordia College New York. Archived materials are primary sources to students and alum, exploring the history of the institution, the evolution of Concordia University Chicago's academic programs, administrative initiatives, and the development and growth of the physical facilities.
Established as a department of the Library in 1980, the University Archives’ chief purpose is to acquire, preserve, and make accessible the official historical record of the University. University Archives collects the records of University departments and offices that are of enduring and historical value once they are past the period of active use. Examples of documents collected and accessioned by the University Archives include: presidential papers, memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes, records of the Board of Trustees, records of grants and proposals, documents related to University sponsored programs and activities, University budgets, publications of student organizations, and the school newspaper.
University Archives does not accept, and cannot house, any University records that are still in use, whether active or inactive. Offices and departments are advised to ensure that they have no current or frequent need for any records intended for transfer to University Archives. Records sent to University Archives that do not to fit the purpose of University Archives will not be retained. Examples of University documents that are not collected or stored by the University Archives include: student records, individual vitae of faculty, records of monetary gifts to the University, University bank statements, purchase orders or receipts, and personnel records. As a public collection open to anyone, confidential documents of any kind cannot be accepted.
The University Archivist, under the direction of the Associate Dean of Libraries, retains the responsibility and authority in determining which records will be housed in the Archives. The University Archivist establishes and maintains procedures to help ensure that only appropriate documents are transferred to the Archives to be processed and included in the collection. Those records and documents sent to the Archives that lack historical relevance will be returned or discarded.
The University Archives primarily collects documents in paper format. Digital formats may be accepted, but they will be evaluated by the University Archivist for their historical and enduring value.
The Library encourages the support of all University departments in developing this valuable collection to document our University’s history.
All departments are welcome to submit materials for the University Archives. Please retain items for seven (7) years before transferring appropriate documents to the University Archives for evaluation of pertinence and importance, and permanent storage.
When an office or department has identified records it wants to archive, there are three (3) basic steps the office should take:
Please follow the detailed procedures with the appropriate shipping form to send documents to the University Archives.
Examples of archived documents are:
Please note: the University Archives does not accept anything of a confidential nature which would be inappropriate to make publicly available or publish on the internet, such as student and personnel records.