Skip to Main Content

Native American & Alaska Native Heritage Month: U.S. Treaties with Native Americans

Interested in learning more about Native American & Alaska Native Heritage Month? You have come to the right place.

Between 1778 and 1868, there were 30 treaties between the United States and Native Americans.

A complete list of treaties for the following nations: Apache, Arapaho, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Comanche, Creek, Delaware, Kiowa Oneida, Potawatami, Shawnee, Six Nations, and Wyandot is identified in The Avalon Project from Yale Law School.

Why Do Treaties Matter?

Video created by Native Governance Center and the Minnesota Humanities Center, (November 6, 2020).