Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Library databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, such as journalists, researchers and experts in their field. Since databases provide powerful search tools for narrowing results, users are able to more quickly find the information they need. The databases also provide easy interlibrary loan request options for materials that are not full text. We have several library databases that support multiple courses and assignments at Concordia.
- For a comprehensive list of Concordia University Chicago databases, click here.
- To access all Concordia University Chicago owned peer-reviewed journals and articles in one location, click here.
- For access to Concordia University Chicago’s catalog, click here.
- Many citations on Google Scholar lead to subscription items with paywalls, but searches also return copies that are freely available. If you have a university affiliation, it is best to conduct your search using your library access, which will allow you to view any items for which the university’s library has subscriptions. Before going to Google Scholar, connect your Concordia Gmail account through the CUC library so to see what is available in the library and may have missed when you searched the library’s databases.
- Reference lists in articles that you identify as the “perfect study” will help guide you to other similar resources. The author(s) of that article have pulled similar materials, so look at the reference list and find out if the referenced studies also support your research topic.
- PubMed contains citations and abstracts that cover a broad range of topics, including biomedicine and bioengineering, health, behavior, chemicals, and life sciences. It also contains useful linked resources, all of which are open to the public at no charge.
- To look at the free, full text collection available on PubMed, click here.
- Federally-funded research databases allow members of the public to find freely accessible information. Government databases collects information for various reasons, including climate monitoring, securities law compliance, geological surveys, patent applications and grants, surveillance, national security, border control, law enforcement, public health, voter registration, vehicle registration, social security, and statistics.
- To look at an A to Z list of U.S. Government Publications, Databases, and Websites, click here.
- To view U.S. Government Document Portals and Resources, click here.
Library of Congress Subject Guides
Professional Organization Websites
- Accessing professional organizations is critical in keeping abreast of the latest knowledge and practices locally, regionally, and globally in that particular field of study. It helps professionals to stay abreast of current issues and opportunities and will also assist in professional advancement for involved members.
The Klinck Memorial Library team is here to help: