LibGuides: Business: Graduate: MBAC 6450

Library Resources: Databases

Search Terms to try:

"Company Name" AND Marketline
"Company Name AND SWOT

D&B Key Business Ratios
Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

Library Resources: Newspapers

Wall Street Journal (Proquest Database)
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City, with international editions also available in Chinese and Japanese. The Journal, along with its Asian editions, is published six days a week by Dow Jones & Company, a division of News Corp.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Crain's Chicago Business (EBSCO database)
ChicagoBusiness.com is the top source of news, analysis and information on business in metropolitan Chicago for decision-makers in the private and public sectors. To keep these readers in the know, Crain's relies on a staff of more than 20 experienced journalists. In addition, Crain's publishes a weekly business magazine, Crain's Chicago Business, that provides deeper analysis, commentary, special reports and features.

Online Search 10-K Reports

Finding 10-K Reports:

Google: "Company Name" Investor Relations, scroll to SEC Filings
Google: "Company Name" Annual Report (often attractively formatted for shareholders)
Google: "Company Name" EDGAR (select the SEC.gov result) NOTE: Table of Contents is hyperlinked to appropriate page!
SEC.gov>Filings>Company Filings Search

Once 10-K is identified, look at:

Part II Item 7. Management's discussion and Analysis of Financial conditions and Results of Operations
Part II Item 8: Financial Statements

Table of Contents in EDGAR and SEC filings are hyperlinked to appropriate page.

MarketWatch: Online source

MarketWatch is a subsidiary of Dow Jones & Company that provides financial information, business news, analysis, and stock market data. Use it to see Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Cash Flow, SEC Filings (10-K) as well as graphs of Stock market activity.

SWOT & PESTLE: Online source

SWOT & PESTLE is a leading strategy research portal covering detailed SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) and PESTLE (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal, and Environmental) analysis of leading industry sectors around the globe.
Some information is provided for free, complete reports are available for purchase.

Citation Resources

When using Library resources, citation are automatically available. We suggest you copy and paste citations for the materials you review on a separate document for future use in you Reference page. Note, you may have to re-align indentation per APA Guidelines. Citation generators are found in Library resources as follows:

Library Catalog: Open the resource and scroll down to the "Tool Box" section, click on citations.
EBSCO databases: Open the resource and under Tools on the right hand side, go to the Cite icon.
NewsBank Database: Along the top of the results page, click on the "C symbol
Wall Street Journal (Proquest Database): On the right side of the article, click on the " symbol.
Crains Chicago Business (EBSCO): See EBSCO database example above.
Cite D&B Key Ratios as a database, following APA guidelines- See APA tab above.
Cite 10-K Report as a website, when retrieved from a website (e.g. Company site or SEC.gov), following APA guidelines - See APA tab above.
Cite MarketWatch and SWOT & PESTLE as websites, following APA guidelines - See APA tab above.
See APA 7th ed. Library Guide for further help. Tab located above.