PSY 1000 General Psychology: Getting Started

• Library Catalog
• Interlibrary Loan
• Make an Appointment

• American Psychological Association

National organization and website identifies a number of Psychology topics as well as information on researching topics.

• State psychological associations

List of State organization

• National Institute of Mental Health

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders, offers basic information on mental disorders, a range of related topics, and the latest mental health research.

• Mental Health America

MHA is the nation' leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental isllness and to promoting the overall mental health of all.

• ICD-10

International Statistical Classification of Disease and Related Health Problems 10th Revision. Section V covers mental and behavioral disorders. Searchable.

• Psychology Today

Popular magazine ( not scholarly) covering psychology in a practical way for the general public.

• WebMD

Health information for the public on the internet. Reference material about health subjects available.

Klinck Memorial Library’s Databases

Why?

• Library databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, such as journalists, researchers and experts in their field. Since databases provide powerful search tools for narrowing results, users are able to more quickly find the information they need. The databases also provide easy interlibrary loan request options for materials that are not full text. We have several library databases that support multiple courses and assignments at Concordia.
  • For a comprehensive list of Concordia University Chicago databases, click here.
  • To access all Concordia University Chicago owned peer-reviewed journals and articles in one location, click here.
  • For access to Concordia University Chicago’s catalog, click here.

Google Scholar

            Why?

• Many citations on Google Scholar lead to subscription items with paywalls, but searches also return copies that are freely available. If you have a university affiliation, it is best to conduct your search using your library access, which will allow you to view any items for which the university’s library has subscriptions. Before going to Google Scholar, connect your Concordia Gmail account through the CUC library so to see what is available in the library and may have missed when you searched the library’s databases.  Or search Google Scholar from the library homepage, (change the dropdown from Library Catalog to Google Scholar) which already has the Concordia University Chicago catalog linked to Google Scholar. 

Reference Lists

            Why?

• Reference lists in articles that you identify as the “perfect study” will help guide you to other similar resources. The author(s) of that article have pulled similar materials, so look at the reference list and find out if the referenced studies also support your research topic.

"Cited By" function

            Why?

• Identifying articles that work for your research is just the first step. Using the "cited by" function in Google Scholar, PubMed, and the library catalog, you will locate more current publications that are similar to your article. In the entries in the library catalog, click on the split arrow icon to see articles that cite the article you're looking at.

PubMed

            Why?

• PubMed contains citations and abstracts that cover a broad range of topics, including biomedicine and bioengineering, health, behavior, chemicals, and life sciences. It also contains useful linked resources, all of which are open to the public at no charge.  Click on the CUC icon in the full text links area in the entry for an article and if we have access to the full text, you'll go right to the article.  If not, you will see the catalog entry for the article and the link to the interlibrary loan request form - Get It From Another Library. 
  • To look at the free, full text collection available on PubMed, click here.
    

Federally-Funded Databases

            Why?

• Federally-funded research databases allow members of the public to find freely accessible information. Government databases collects information for various reasons, including climate monitoring, securities law compliance, geological surveys, patent applications and grants, surveillance, national security, border control, law enforcement, public health, voter registration, vehicle registration, social security, and statistics. 
  • To look at an A to Z list of U.S. Government Publications, Databases, and Websites, click here.
  • To view U.S. Government Document Portals and Resources, click here.

Library of Congress Subject Guides

            Why?

• Library of Congress created Research Subject Guides to the Library's general collections of books and periodicals, as well as general subject guides prepared by Library of Congress reference librarians.
  • For online guides covering other Library of Congress collections, click here.

Professional Organization Websites

            Why?

• Accessing professional organizations is critical in keeping abreast of the latest knowledge and practices locally, regionally, and globally in that particular field of study. It helps professionals to stay abreast of current issues and opportunities and will also assist in professional advancement for involved members.