Steps for locating scholarly resources for science students:
2. PubMed & PubMed Central
- Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhostA comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content relating to all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
- Health Source - Consumer EditionInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Full-text for more than 80 magazines and 110 health reference books.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionProvides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- PubMed Central Open JournalsPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Over 2,500 journals are accessible for free in this database.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextThe definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature. It includes books, conference proceedings, magazines, and more than 670 full-text journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
- Springer Medicine e-Book CollectionIncludes all English Medicine Collection titles published by Springer between 2005 - 2010. For access, select the Medicine and Public Health discipline and click Book under the Content Type. On top of the screen enter 2005 - 2010 publication dates.
Go here to view all CUC health and biological sciences journals
The CUC Library has access over 7,000 health and biological sciences journals. The list below are a few that are particularly favored.
- PubMed Central Open JournalsPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Over 2,500 journals are accessible for free in this database.
Search for books and ebooks in the Library Catalog
- Springer Medicine e-Book CollectionIncludes all English Medicine Collection titles published by Springer between 2005 - 2010. For access, select the Medicine and Public Health discipline and click Book under the Content Type. On top of the screen enter 2005 - 2010 publication dates.
Antioxidants in Sport Nutrition by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781466567597Publication Date: 2014-09-17
Critical Research in Sport, Health and Physical Education by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781138571679Publication Date: 2018-10-15
