Using Library Resources for Research: Methods Section
Start by familiarizing yourself with the "Method" sections found in other pieces of research similar to your topic of choice. Two Library Databases are worth reviewing, both found on the Library Homepage.
1. The "Find Articles" box directs you to EBSCOhost databases*
2. The "Find Dissertations" box directs you to ProQuest databases
-
You will then want to search using your "TOPIC" AND "THE TYPE OF RESEARCH METHOD" you are proposing i.e. Qualitative, Quantitative, Mixed Methods, Action Research. e.g. Teacher Burnout AND Qualitative
*Scroll to the bottom of this guide for a demonstration on using the features of EBSCOhost or reach out to the library for help.
Video Tutorial Demonstrating How to Find Method Section examples
Alternate Link if above one doesn't work
or Scroll below to see Video
Method Section Writing: "What, How, Which, & Why"
- Chapter 10: Writing a Research ProposalFrom textbook, Introduction to Educational Design by Craig Mertler
- Method Sections for Empirical Research PapersFrom James Madison University Library, this article provides a typical structure with guiding questions for completing a Methods section in a research paper.
Organizing your Social Sciences Research Paper/ The Methodology from University of Southern California Library
How to Write a Methods Section for a Research Paper by A Research Guide
How to Write a Methods Section for a Psychology Paper: Tips and Examples of an APA Methods Section by verywellMind
How to Write the Methods Section of a Research Paper by Researcher.Life
APA Professional Sample Papers
APA Sample Professional Paper and Microsoft Word templates by research paper type
- Professional sample paper with annotations (features examples of APA conventions in an actual paper)
Source: APA Style Sample Papers
Dr. Craig Mertler Books & Action Research Interview
The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education by ISBN: 9781119399490Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Databases & Navigation
CUC Research Databases
In the Collegial Cloud, doctoral students, candidates will find all the information and resources needed to complete their dissertation requirements.
- EBSCO (for journals and articles)
- ProQuest (for dissertations and ebooks)
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations
- Go to the library's website
- Click
; use your Concordia Connect login to access - Select your databases, depending on your topic
- Scroll down and click on the Peer Reviewed box:
- Put in your key terms and click on the blue button that says:
- If you are only looking for peer-reviewed journals or articles, select the "Academic Journals" under "source type":
Tip: Experiment with your keywords and don't type out a sentence (it's not Google)
Remember: You can always request resources that are not full text!
What is peer-review?
The peer-review process subjects an author's scholarly work, research, or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field (peers) and is considered necessary to ensure academic scientific quality. Articles, journals, reports, books, and other content can be considered peer review. Prior to publication, a material is submitted and must be reviewed by at least one expert in the field. The reviewer evaluates the research presented in the material. The scholarly work that passes the peer-review process is then published; the scholarly work that does not pass the peer review process will not be published as peer-reviewed.
How do you I know if a journal is peer-reviewed ?
1. If you have a paper version of the journal you can look on the inside front cover to see if there is information regarding peer-review.
2. Many times an editorial board will be listed on the inside front cover
3. If you are using a database and only have an electronic version of an article-you can still verify if the journal is peer-reviewed.
- Do a search for the journal and go to the homepage. Go to the about us section (or something similar) and you should find information about whether or not the journal is peer-reviewed.
- You can also view this tutorial where a Concordia librarian shows you how to narrow down your database search for only peer-reviewed content.
4. Many of the CUC resources held in EBSCO are peer-reviewed and accessible to all CUC members.
Databases are not Google!
Keywords only!
Boolean searching is built on a method of symbolic logic developed by George Boole, a 19th century English mathematician. Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT (known as Boolean operators) to limit, broaden, or define your search.
For example, if you type in “Hampton Road Peace Conference”, you receive few results. But if you type in "Hampton Roads" AND "conference" This allows your search results to only those documents containing the two keywords, instead of a whole phrase.
Look at the video below:
In EBSCO, a word in a search bar can be truncated (shortened) by using the asterisk (shift + 8 = *)
giving you far more search results!
For example:
If you open EBSCO and look only for articles using the word "Mexican", you will receive 151,859 results.
If you open EBSCO and look for only articles using the word "Mexic*", you will receive 504,353 results.
Look at the video below:
So you found some articles, but it's not enough for your topic.
What do you do next?
Requesting articles from the library is free!
Navigate CUC databases at anytime! If there are articles you would like but are not available in EBSCO, click on "Request this Item". Fill out the form and the library team will send the request to you via email as soon as possible. Please allow 4 days of processing time.
If you cannot locate the article record in EBSCO and still want to request the article, fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request form.
Look at the video below:
EBSCO, ProQuest, and Google Scholar provide citations too!
Many databases provide citation assistance, including linking citations to tools like EasyBib and RefWorks.
Click here for more APA assistance.
View the videos below:
Library Materials
Check List for Methods Section
1. Read your assignment rubric:
- Understand what you are being asked to provide to fulfill your assignment and respond to each section that will make up your grade.
- Include your research question & hypothesis on a separate page
2. Research Design Type:
- Describe the overall research design
- Justify why this design was chosen and how it aligns with the research objectives
3. Sampling Plan & Sample Description (Participants):
- Provide details about the participants or subjects involved in the study
- Mention relevant demographic information and discuss any inclusion/exclusion criteria used
4. Data Collection Tools/Instruments:
- Include materials or instruments used (e.g. surveys, questionnaires, equipment)
5. Procedures:
- Detail the steps to collect data or conduct research
- Provide chronological description of the research process
6. Reliability and validity:
- Explain the reliability and validity of measurement instruments used
- Describe the procedures employed to ensure consistency and stability in measurements
- Describe how the research design and methodology support the validity of the study
6. Ethical Considerations
- Discuss any ethical issues related to the research and how they were addressed
- Include information about informed consent, confidentiality, and participant anonymity
- Provide details about institutional review board (IRB) if appropriate
7. APA Format:
- The APA citation style requires including the participants, materials, and procedures as an obligatory part. Remember to state demographic characteristics when working on the participants’ aspect. The main heading of the methods section should be written in bold and capitalized. Centering must be used. As for the methodology in research paper subheadings, they should be aligned to the left and done in bold.
