From the article Martin Luther in Britannica Academic:
Martin Luther, (born November 10, 1483, Eisleben, Saxony [now in Saxony-Anhalt, Germany]—died February 18, 1546, Eisleben), German theologian and religious reformer who was the catalyst of the 16th-century Protestant Reformation. Through his words and actions, Luther precipitated a movement that reformulated certain basic tenets of Christian belief and resulted in the division of Western Christendom between Roman Catholicism and the new Protestant traditions, mainly Lutheranism, Calvinism, Anglicanism, the Anabaptists, and the anti-Trinitarians. He is one of the most influential figures in the history of Christianity.
Selected Books Available in the Klinck Memorial Library
- Library Catalogue search results for works by and about Martin LutherThe Library of Congress Call Number range for Martin Luther is BR323.5-334.2
Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation by Call Number: REF. BR324 .E53 2017ISBN: 9781442271586Publication Date: 2017-08-31A comprehensive global study of the life and work of Martin Luther and the movements that followed him-- in history and through today. The two-volume set provides overviews of basics such as the 95 Theses as well as more complex topics such as reformational distinctions. Entries explore Luther's contributions to theology, sacraments, his influence on the church and contemporaries, his character, and more. The work also discusses Luther's controversies and topics such as gender, sexuality, and race."--Back cover.
Martin Luther by Call Number: BR325 .M375 2004ISBN: 0786263652Publisher's description: Martin Marty portrays the religious reformer Martin Luther as a man of conscience and courage who risked death to ignite the historic reformation of the Church.
Luther's Lives by Call Number: BR325 .L84 2003ISBN: 9780719068027Publication Date: 2003-12-25Publisher's description: Luther's Lives is the first eyewitness account of the life of Martin Luther ever to be translated into English. It contains the writings of Johannes Cochlaeus, who witnessed Luther's famous declaration at the Diet of Worms, and later debated with Luther and other leaders of the Reformation. This book supplies a life of Cochlaeus, plus a full scholarly apparatus for readers who wish to make a broader study.
Martin Luther by Call Number: BR325 .M48 2017ISBN: 9780525558224Publication Date: 2017-10-01On All Hallow's Eve in 1517, a young monk named Martin Luther posted a document he hoped would spark an academic debate, but which instead ignited a conflagration that would forever destroy the world he knew. Five hundred years after Luther's now famous Ninety-five Theses appeared, acclaimed biographer Eric Metaxas paints a startling portrait of the wild figure whose adamantine faith cracked the edifice of Western Christendom and dragged medieval Europe into the future. This book tells the searing tale of a humble man who, by bringing ugly truths to the highest seats of power, caused an explosion the sound of which is still ringing in our ears. Luther's monumental faith and courage gave birth to the ideals of liberty, equality, and individualism that today lie at the heart of all modern life.--From dust jacket.
A World Ablaze by Call Number: BR325 .H28 2017ISBN: 9780190275181Publication Date: 2017-10-03from publisher's description: In A World Ablaze, Craig Harline introduces us to the flesh-and-blood Martin Luther. Harline tells the riveting story of the first crucial years of the accidental crusade that would make Luther a legendary figure.
Digital Luther-Related Items in Library Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowSearch this index for articles and books about Martin Luther; use guides along the left side to limit search by year, or to include only items available with full-text accessibility.
- Martin Luther : The Life and LessonsDigital ebook available of Martin Luther : The Life and Lessons by Larry D. Mansch and Curtis H. Peters. Multiple copies available
- BiblicaPublished since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a research journal and appears four times a year.
It is dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research such as exegesis, philology, and history. - ProQuest - Searching Luthers Werkefull-text access to articles, books, and dissertations on the subject Martin Luther
- List of Research DatabasesLink to listing of all library databases, sorted alphabetically
Film and Video
Luther by Call Number: A-V DVD 36ISBN: 9780792861911Publication Date: 2004Joseph Fiennes (Shakespeare in Love) stars as Martin Luther, the brilliant man of God whose defiant actions changed the world, in this epic, ravishingly beautiful (The New York Times)film that traces Luther's extraordinary and exhilarating quest for the people's liberation. Regional princes and the powerful Church wield a fast, firm and merciless grip on 16th-century Germany. But when Martin Luther issues a shocking challenge to their authority, the people declare him their new leaderand hero. Even when threatened with violent death, Luther refuses to back down, sparkinga bloody revolution that shakes the entire continent to its core.
Free Online Luther Resources
- Luthers Werke - Weimar AusgabeLists of links to digitized editions
- 500 Years of the ReformationThe NJ District of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod invites you to discover Martin Luther, the history of the Protestant Reformation, and your own spirituality through this website. Visit the Spiritual page for personal interests.
- BookOfConcord.orgThis site contains the text of the Book of Concord as well as many other texts and resources related to the history of its development and its ongoing significance for the Church of Christ today.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library - LutherIncludes, biography, quotes, and works by and about Martin Luther.
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The online www.ccel.org server reaches several million different users each year. - City of Wittenberg, GermanyInformation and photographs of the city
- Collection of links to individual volumes of Luther's Works in the Internet ArchiveThe links in the yellow boxes are working, many of the other links are not.
- Early English Books Online - LutherThe University of Michigan Library provides access to these keyboarded and encoded editions of the works printed in English before 1700 for educational and research purposes. These transcriptions are believed to be in the public domain in the United States.
- Hathi Trust - Martin LutherDigital copies of books by and about Martin Luther that are in the public domain. Full-text.
- Index Theologicus - International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies (items about Martin Luther, in English)The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.
- Internet Archive - Martin LutherDigital copies of books by and about Martin Luther, in English and in German. Includes Luther's Works. Books can be checked out by creating a free account with Internet Archive.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive - Writings of Martin LutherFrom the "About" page: This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
This site has no particular agenda other than promoting religious tolerance and scholarship. Views expressed at this site are solely those of specific authors, and are not endorsed by sacred-texts. Sacred-texts is not sponsored by any religious group or organzation. - Key Documentation of the Early Activity of Martin Luther - Google Arts and CultureThis exhibition presents 14 objects, which document the beginning and early development of the Wittenberg Reformation that Martin Luther set in motion. These documents were accepted as part of the “Memory of the World” of UNESCO in October 2015.
- Luther Memorials Foundation in Saxony-AnhaltThe Foundation was established in 1997. It is the custodian of five museums: Luther’s Birth Place and Luther’s Death House in Eisleben, Luther’s Parents' Home in Mansfeld, and the Luther House and Melanchthon House in Wittenberg. The houses in Wittenberg and Eisleben have been UNESCO World Heritage Sites since 1996. The Foundation maintains and develops the buildings as well as the collections and exhibitions.
One of the Foundation’s main responsibilities is to provide a diverse learning program on the history of the Reformation. To do this, we organize new exhibitions and seminars, add to our collections and publish research results. We also provide guided tours of our exhibitions and give lectures and seminars. - Martin Luther as Priest, Heretic, and Outlaw: The Reformation at 500 - Digital Exhibit at the Library of CongressThese selections of Luther's and other Reformation-era works at the Library of Congress document not only the progress of Luther's thought as the conflict with Rome took shape, but also how printing in Germany blossomed into a mass medium as public interest in the controversy continued to grow.
- Munich Digitization Center - searching Martin LutherFull text search, infinite zoom, open access: The Bavarian State Library presents its new Digital Collections with around 2.7 million digitized titles. Initiated in 1997 by the Munich DigitiZation Center (MDZ) of the Bavarian State Library, the Digital Collections are now the largest offering of their kind in Germany, with over 355 million digitized pages.
- People in Luther's WorldLUTHER.de has pages about legends, a timeline, information about Luther's life and work. Viewable in several languages.
- Post-Reformation Digital Library - Martin LutherThe Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database that organizes the vast array of publicly available digital sources on the development of theology and philosophy during the early modern era (late 15th-18th c.). The PRDL spans collections from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects. The PRDL does not directly host digital copies of sources, but rather assembles links to publicly available sources from permanent collections.
- Selected Works of Martin Luther - Project WittenbergProject Wittenberg is home to works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans. Here you will find all manner of texts from short quotations to commentaries, hymns to statements of faith, theological treatises to biographies, and links to other places where words and images from the history of Lutheranism live.
Articles from The New Yorker
How Martin Luther Changed the World, by Joan Acocella - October 23, 2017
Review of the play Wittenberg by David Davalos in Backstage Magazine
Wittenberg review by Ron Cohen, last updated August 29, 2019