Resources
CUC Databases for COM1100
- EBSCO Full Text & Peer Reviewed Search of all Databases
Go here to review the full text resources the CUC Library owns for your immediate needs. If you don't like the materials that come up in the search, unselect full-text on the left and you can request other options that appear. - JSTOR Open ContentThousands of journal articles and books from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Using these online resources, researchers in libraries around the world can easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula.
Library Catalog
- Library CatalogGo here to locate physical and ebooks for your subject. You can request books we do not own through I-Share for free.
Open Educational Resources for Public Speaking
Tutorials
- Go to the library's website
- Click on Find Articles; use your Concordia login to access
- Select your databases, depending on your topic
- Select "Advanced Search" and put in your key terms
- Select the "Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals" and "Full Text" boxes, then click the big, green search box on top
Tip: Experiment with your keywords and don't type out a sentence (it's not Google)
Remember: You can request articles that are not full text!
Requesting articles from the library is free!
Navigate CUC databases at anytime! If there are articles you would like but are not available in EBSCO, click on "Request this Item". Fill out the form and the library team will send the request to you via email as soon as possible. Please allow 4 days of processing time.
Look at the video below:
Request books from over 80 Illinois institutions!
How to request a book in the I-Share catalog from another institution:
- Go to the library's website
- Paste the ISBN or title of the book you are looking for in the search bar OR go to the I-Share Catalog homepage
- Make sure "All I-Share Libraries" is selected
- Click on the title of the book and verify that it is the edition you need
- Click on "Sign in"
- Click on CUC Students, Faculty & Staff Login
- Enter your CUC login credential is necessary--you will then see your name in the upper righthand corner
- Click on "I-Share" and verify your pick up location (it defaults to the Klinck Memorial Library)
- Click "Send Request" and an email will be sent to you to verify your submission and when the material arrives for pick up.
Searching Tips in EBSCO
Databases are not Google!
Keywords only!
Boolean searching is built on a method of symbolic logic developed by George Boole, a 19th century English mathematician. Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT (known as Boolean operators) to limit, broaden, or define your search.
For example, if you type in “Hampton Road Peace Conference”, you receive few results. But if you type in "Hampton Roads" AND "conference" This allows your search results to only those documents containing the two keywords, instead of a whole phrase.
Look at the video below:
In EBSCO, a word in a search bar can be truncated (shortened) by using the asterisk (shift + 8 = *)
giving you far more search results!
For example:
If you open EBSCO and look only for articles using the word "Mexican", you will receive 151,859 results.
If you open EBSCO and look for only articles using the word "Mexic*", you will receive 504,353 results.
Look at the video below:
Citation tools are often available in many databases. Databases will create the citation for an article in the style you want. However, formatting does not always copy correctly and you may need to adjust indentations and confirm that the information requested by your instructor is included in the citation generated. It can be a real time saver. See the tutorial below: