Using Databases for News Reporting & Writing
There are two news and event specific databases, NewsBank and Newspaper Source. Each can be found on the left side of the Library's Home page under Databases which are listed alphabetically, (scroll to the letter N). Each of these two database is from a different company or vendor, and it is recommended to search for news and event information in both.
Additionally, NewsBank can be located using Advanced Search in the library's primary search bar and Newspaper Source can be located by using the Find Articles box on Library home page.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Using these online resources, researchers in libraries around the world can easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
NewsBank and Newspaper Source are both databases that focus on news and event resources but are hosted by different vendors or companies. (As an analogy think of similarities and differences between Coke and Pepsi.)
Both databases include helpful features such as:
- Filters to search results by attributes, categories, and date ranges as well as
- Boolean Operators, simple words (AND, OR, NOT or AND NOT) that are used as conjunctions to combine or exclude keywords in a search, resulting in more focused and productive results and
- Tools to save, download, share search results as well as generate citations for you.
However, the location of these features are found in different locations on each database. The images below identify where key features are found.
NewsBank
NewsBank and Newspaper Source are both databases that focus on news and event resources but are hosted by different vendors or companies. (As an analogy think of similarities and differences between Coke and Pepsi.)
Both databases include helpful features such as:
- Filters to search results by attributes, categories, and date ranges as well as
- Boolean Operators, simple words (AND, OR, NOT or AND NOT) that are used as conjunctions to combine or exclude keywords in a search, resulting in more focused and productive results and
- Tools to save, download, share search results as well as generate citations for you.
However, the location of these features are found in different locations on each database. The images below identify where key features are found.
Go to the library's website
- Click on "Find Articles"; use your Concordia login to access
- Select your databases, depending on your topic
- Select "Advanced Search" and put in your key terms
- Select the "Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals" and "Full Text" boxes, then click the big, green search box on top
Tip: Experiment with your keywords and don't type out a sentence (it's not Google)
Remember: You can request articles that are not full text!
Newspaper Source is one of several EBSCOhost databases.
Database Tips for Effective Searching in Ebsco
Note by clicking on the above links, you are being re-directed to other Library Guides. To return to this guide, use the back button or worse case return to the Library Home Page> Library Guides> News Reporting and Writing Fall 23.
Chicago Area Newspaper Sources
Newspapers
- Chicago Sun-Times, 1948–present
- Chicago Tribune, 1847–present
- Chicago Defender, multi-media content provider of news, information and events that cover the interests of the urban African American community with culturally relevant content not regularly serviced by mainstream media.
- Cicero Independiente (bi-lingual serving Cicero and Berwyn)
- Daily Herald (Glenview and other Chicago suburbs)
- Elm Leaves (Elmwood Park) - access via NewsBank using search term Elm Leaves (Elmwood Park, IL) - May also have to select this title under source name
- Forest Park Review (Forest Park)
- Greater Southwest News-Herald (Garfield Ridge)
- Wednesday Journal of Oak Park and River Forest - weekly (Oak Park and River Forest)
- Village Free Press serving Proviso Township (Bellwood)
- Oak Leaves (Oak Park) - -access via NewsBank using search term Oak Leaves (Oak Park, IL) - May also have to select this title under source name
- Forest Leaves (River Forest) -access via NewsBank using search term Forest Leaves (River Forest, IL) - May also have to select this title under source name
- Block Club Chicago (Chicago Neighborhood Focused) public service journalism that puts the people of Chicago at the center of every story.
Data Information Sources
Great resource for community data.
1. Use the search bar for your town, village, or city.
2. Look for CMAP Community Data Snapshot (Town name)
The City of Chicago's Data Portal is dedicated to promoting access to government data and encouraging the development of creative tools to engage and serve Chicago's diverse community. The site hosts over 200 datasets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
-
CAPS — Chicago Alternative Policing Strategy
-
Google: Enter: census data quickfacts [town name, IL]
- United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
-
Data covering the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes, population, economic, housing, and geographic information. Coverage: 2000 - present.
Evaluating Information
See this Library Guide from Arkansas State Univeristy on how to evaluate a website.
Evaluating Web Pages: Questions to Consider from Cornell University
From the Society of Professional Journalists, find backgrounding and research resources.
Click here or on the image above to be directed to the SPJ Toolbox
Check out these resources for more information on identifying fake news.
- FactCheck.org
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania that monitors accuracy of "what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."
- How to spot fake news
Advice on how to spot fake news, from FactCheck.org.
- Snopes
A resource that aims to debunk or confirm stories.
- Media Bias / Fact Check
MBFC News is dedicated to educating the public on media bias and deceptive news practices.
- Politifact
A fact-checking source from the Poynter Institute, including its Truth-O-Meter.
Media Bias
Everyone is biased — and that's okay. There's no such thing as unbiased news. But hidden media bias misleads, manipulates and divides us. So everyone should learn how to spot media bias.
AllSides empowers you to understand the role media bias plays in the news and information you consume.
First Draft News Essential Guide to Understanding Information Disorder
First Draft News identified seven types of mis- and disinformation which are identified in the image below:
Journalism Code of Ethics
Library Services
-
Library Catalog: Directs you to a simple search of the Concordia Catalog. Click on the Advanced feature to search All I-Share libraries, or for Journal Articles.
-
Interlibrary Loan: Use to manually request Book/Dissertation/AV materials or Journal Article/Book Chapters if you are not directed there from either a link in a database or from the catalog.
-
Make an Appointment: A link to Navigate to schedule an appointment with a Librarian.
