Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 1100: English Composition): Finding Articles

Going Green Environmental Writing Assignment

Finding Articles in Databases

The two largest databases CUC subscribes to are EBSCOhost and ProQuest.  EBSCOhost has several individual "topic/focus area" databases curated for different disciplines.

Below are the search bars for each database:

CUC's EBSCO Databases
Limit Your Results

Pay attention to the Full Text and Peer Reviewed boxes...

  • If the Full Text box is checked you will find only those articles with immediate access to the entire text.
  • If the Peer Reviewed box is checked you will find all article titles on your topic that are peer reviewed (or scholarly). The full text of the article may or may not be available.
    • You can request the full text of an article through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
    • Requested articles are typically forwarded to your campus email within 4 business days.
    •   Download and save the article upon receipt as access to the article will expire in 30 days.

Common Questions

I found an article, how do I know if the Journal it appears in is "Peer Reviewed?"

A best place to look is at the journal website. A general description of the journal or instructions for author submissions will often mention "peer review." If you are not sure, contact a Librarian.

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?

Watch the video below created by NC State University

license for creative commons

This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.

Published April 2014

Requesting Articles

Requesting Articles

Complete an Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Before requesting...

For Questions...

Contact Dan Zamudio, Access Services Librarian at 708-209-3057 or 866-733-8287

Finding Articles in Google Scholar

Finding Articles in Google Scholar

Start by linking Google Scholar to the CUC's library databases. 

Google Scholar Search

 

Note: Off-campus users will be prompted to sign in with their Concordia username and  password.

Didn't find the full-text? Consider requesting the article via ILL (InterLibrary Loan).